Most of Asia’s best baristas will be arriving in the Merlion City on the 21st of April for their preparation to compete for the 1st Asia Barista Champion title.

Besides winning the title, the 1st Asia Barista Champion will also get for him/herself a grand trophy, SGD 3000.00 and also a BariSTAR vest. The rest of the participants will also have a chance to win other prizes too.

National Champion of The Philippines – Ms. Vanessa M. Caceres, Mr. Scott Callaghan of Australia, who is a 2006 World Latte Art Champion and 2007 Australia Barista Champion, Mr. Carl Sara of New Zealand, who is 2004, 2005, 2007 New Zealand Champion and 2nd runner – up for 2007 World Barista Championship, Mr. John Ting of Singapore, 1st runner – up for 2007 Singapore National Barista Championship, 2007 National Champion of Thailand – Ms. Sirithai Rangjanthue, National Champion of Indonesia – Mr. Tassi Agustinus Yosef and other national champions from Korea, China, Taiwan, India and Malaysia will also be participating.

There will also be an international panel of professional judges i.e., Mr. Justin Metcalf of Australia, an international expert to the World Barista Championship’s Judges and Certification Committee, Mr. Meechai Amornpathanakul, President of the Barista Association of Thailand, Mr. Andrew Hetzel who is the 1st SCAA accredited Coffee Judge in Hawaii, and etc.

ABC 2008 is co – organized by Singapore Exhibition Services, Kerry Ingredients Asia, Singapore Coffee Association and is sponsored by LaMarzocco Espresso Machines, Greenfield’s Fresh Milk, Da Vinci Gourmet Syrup & Sauce Coffex Coffee, Hamilton Beach Blender, Mahlkonig Grinder, Cafetto Espresso Cleaner, Purence Drinking water and Rattleware’s small wares.